My Survival Guide to Kanji (⌒▽⌒)

One of the biggest challenges of learning Japanese is definitely the infamous and dreadedKanji! 😱

IMG_5222 I could talk for ages about how many hours (days and weeks would probably be more accurate) I have spent revising Kanji and don’t even get me started on the various Onyomi and Kunyomi readings (HINT: they’re a pain in the butt!! 🍑). However, I have been learning Kanji for a year and thought I’d share some of my revision techniques for anyone who’s interested! 😀

1) Invest in some Kanji books 📚

IMG_5197

This is by far my favourite series of Kanji Book! It gives you a set amount of Kanji to memorise per week and there are lots of exercises to help consolidate what you’ve learnt. They are quite pricey but are worth it in my opinion!

2) Write Kanji everywhere!

IMG_5195

If you have Kanji written everywhere you look, you won’t be able to forget it! I like writing Kanji on my hand (as you can plainly see xD) but there are many other ways to do this. One of my friend’s flat at Uni is covered in Japanese post-it notes and she’s a whizz at Japanese so maybe it’s the key to success!

3) Write sentences out in Japanese using the Kanji you’ve learnt!

I must confess, I don’t do this as much as I should which is quite lazy on my part 😅 but it really helps you actively remember Kanji instead of passively writing them out on a piece of paper.

4) Practise makes perfect! ^^

Basically, the more work and revision you do, the more Kanji you will remember so don’t forget to work hard 💪🏻 There’s no magical way to easily learn Kanji but these are just a few of my fave ways to remember them so I hope I’ve helped or given you a few ideas! 😄

がんばって!

🌸 Sakura Student 🌸

4 thoughts on “My Survival Guide to Kanji (⌒▽⌒)

  1. Good post! I suggest finding easy books (start with childrens books) that have Kanji in them. The more you read them in context the better you will be able to recognize them quickly, and learn their nuances.

    Like

Leave a Reply

